product image
product image
product image
product image thumb
product image thumb
product image thumb



Barcode: 8436559466967 / Cat: 11425 / 1 CD / Label: ESSENTIAL JAZZ CLASSICS DIGIPACK

Eric Dolphy recorded a couple of sessions in New York during 1963, the fruits of which were issued on small labels as the LPs Conversations and Iron Man, both presented here in their entireties. The sessions feature radical re-imaginings of standards, plus the jubilant, Caribbeanflavored “Music Matador”. That cut, and a classic inside/outside reworking of Fats Waller’s “Jitterbug Waltz” showcase Dolphy leading ensembles of up-and-coming “new thing” players, which prominently feature vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson and trumpeter Woody Shaw. Dolphy is also heard playing an unaccompanied version of “Love Me” and wonderful duets with bassist Richard Davis.

  • Tracklist
    • 1 Jitterbug Waltz
    • 2 Music Matador
    • 3 Alone Together
    • 4 Love Me
    • 5 Iron Man
    • 6 Mandrake
    • 7 Come Sunday
    • 8 Burning Spear
    • 9 Ode to Charlie Parker

Altri prodotti