product image
product image
product image
product image thumb
product image thumb
product image thumb



Barcode: 8436559466950 / Cat: 11424 / 1 CD / Label: ESSENTIAL JAZZ CLASSICS DIGIPACK

All of the studio collaborations by the great tenor player Harold Land and guitar master Barney Kessel. The first album, El Tigre (Charlie Parker Records PLP-832), was also issued under Jimmy Rowles’ name with the no-less-florid-title of Let’s Get Acquainted With Jazz...For People Who Hate Jazz! (Interlude ST-1012). Although all of it was recorded on the same date, Harold Land and trumpeter Pete Candoli alternate as the only horns on the various tracks, but they never play a note together! Two alternative takes of “The Blues,” not on the original album, have been added, as well as the complete 1966 album Time Will Tell (Tangerine Records TRC-1506), an absolute rarity appearing here for the first time ever on CD. A big band LP (also featuring such stars as Harry “Sweets” Edison, Teddy Edwards and Buddy Collette), this is the only other existing Kessel-Land collaboration, with the sole exception of a single version of “Cool Blues” recorded live in Pasadena in 1975.

  • Tracklist
    • 1 Lullaby of Birdland
    • 2 Tea for Two
    • 3 All for You
    • 4 Body and Soul
    • 5 El Tigre
    • 6 Cheeta’s for Two
    • 7 The Cobra
    • 8 East of the Sun
    • 9 The Blues
    • 10 Perdido
    • 11 The Blues [take 1]*
    • 12 The Blues [take 2]*
    • 13 Time Will Tell**
    • 14 Brasilia**
    • 15 I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face**
    • 16 Flame on the Desert**
    • 17 Frantic Fiesta**
    • 18 The Twister**
    • 19 Passeone Blues**
    • 20 A Woman of Stature**

Altri prodotti